Procrastination

Standard

Hello, today I wanted to talk about something that I think everyone secretly relates to…

Procrastination.
I am guilty of being a procrastinator, and I have been for years. I just can’t help but live my life how I want to- which means not doing my homework until the last possible moment. I don’t deny that I am a procrastinator, I mean sure I admit that it is a bad thing, but it is just another part of myself that I need to embrace rather than neglect.
My mother who is very organised, gets into fights with me every single day about how dis-organised I am. No matter how many times I have told her that’s how I simply am, she is determined to convert me into someone who studies weeks before exams and does their homework as soon as they get it.
I’m just not like that.
Don’t get me wrong, I understand that some things have to be done and are important, and I still always do my work (eventually); but I would much rather have a life full of things that make me happy, rather than a life where I was always preoccupied by things I didn’t enjoy doing.
Do you think I am simply being naive? I understand that to make money in this world (unless you are one of those gifted/lucky people who get to enjoy what they’re doing their whole life ) you need to work, and a lot of the time that involves having to do tasks that are not enjoyable.
I’ve recently read the book ‘A Work in Progress’ by Connor Franta and it is basically a biography of his life, full of life lessons and motivating photos and chapters. The book talks about how life won’t wait for you to do what you enjoy, it is up to yourself to make that drastic change in your own lifestyle to achieve the desired effect.
This all comes back to procrastination. By doing what I enjoy more and what I don’t less, I am slowly changing how I live my life. Don’t you want to be really old, sitting on a rocking chair and reflecting upon your own life and be truly able to say something along the lines of:
“Thinking back on it, I am glad of the choices I made in life. I chased my dreams and lived my life to the fullest it could be…”
I am not trying to make you change your whole life course because of this blog post. Simply if you are in a dark place in your life, maybe you’re depressed about someone you love who has left you, or you are moving to a new town and leaving everything you love behind, maybe you feel alone and misunderstood; my message to you ALL is to try and slowly improve your life. If you can’t pin what it is making you feel sad, try adding something to your lifestyle.e.g. join a gym, take that arts class you’ve always wanted to try, start supporting a football team, learn the flute, talk to that friend you broke up with a while ago… Try taking baby steps to make your world a bit happier before deciding whether you want to take that leap of faith.
Anyways, I hope you liked this post. I myself am quite young and I am still discovering who I am and who I want to be in this world, but writing this post motivated me and I hope it did the same for you.
I really need to do my Geography homework due tomorrow now…
Thanks for reading, there’ll be another post up soon 🙂

