Negativity

Standard

Hello. Recently, a bit of negativity has entered my life and I want to share some of it with you 🙂
If you don’t already know, I mentioned in a previous blog post (Pen on Paper) that I wanted to be a writer and how I have a passion for reading and writing.
To me, being able to earn an income through writing would be absolutely incredible. Astounding.
Amazing.
To be able to have your hobby as your job would be too good.
According to my parents, it would be too good to be true.
Basically, my parents have recently been trying to gently destroy my writing dreams because they don’t believe it to be a stable job. And, I very well know that writing can be a job that could earn you thousands…or nothing at all. It is all based upon how popular your books are, which is just another line my parents throw at me. Here are some of their arguments:
1. “But, what if no one likes your stories?”
2. “What are you going to study in University? Study to be a writer?”
3. “Look there was this very famous writer named John Keats. He wrote some amazing stuff…I’ve read some myself, really beautiful work. He didn’t become famous until after he died…”
(Also I’d like to point out for argument no.2 that neither of my parents actually went to University. It wasn’t like they weren’t smart or anything, but back when they left school University just wasn’t as big of a deal as it is today.)
This site is an outstanding platform for a lot of writers and so, I would love to know your feedback. I’m just not too sure what to think anymore, I still want to chase my dreams but before I was 100 percent determined and passionate and now I’m only at 80 percent.
I know that my parents just want the best for me and that they’re trying to be realists, but it doesn’t help ones attitude when you get lectured multiple times every day and get inquired about what job you’ll get when you’re older.
Alright, that’s it for this post. Like I already said (or typed) comments for this post would be much appreciated 🙂
Thanks for reading, there’ll be another post soon.

2 thoughts on “Negativity

  1. I can’t believe I missed this one, because it speaks to me. When I was in secondary school – high school – this was the exact conversation my parents and I went through.

    One of my parents went to uni – the other didn’t. They both love me very much, but they definitely did want me to go to university, and I can understand. Like you said, they’re being pragmatic. I don’t want to be a downer because for every one stellar writer that comes out, there are so many more languishing undiscovered and struggling. You only need to look at the Amazon eBook section for an illustration of how cutthroat it is. But that’s true of practically every industry. And you should never let that discourage you from your dreams.

    I’m not going to bore you with the details of what happened in between. In the end, we reached a compromise – I’d go to uni and get a professional degree (law), and afterwards, I was free to pursue what I wanted. In this case, an English masters, and to write in my own spare time. I’m in my final year of university now, and I’m still writing and venting, and I’m going on to do my masters soon. Hopefully. Sure, I might not have as much time to write now, but my manuscript is coming along. Writing is never mutually exclusive with pursuing a degree. It’s a matter of time management, and there’s no harm in having a safety net to give yourself stability while you pursue your dreams.

    Sorry this was so long! I’m just speaking from my point of view. Don’t let it get you down. I hope this is resolved soon for you, and good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your inspiring comment. Yes, the arguing still continues with my parents and they are still pestering me about what career I’ll pursue in the future but, thanks to your comment I know that it’ll get better as I agree with you about always needing a back up plan 🙂
      So thanks again for your feedback xx

      Like

Comments are closed.